ZoningBrief · Dallas
Dallas rezoning & planning commission items this week — what they mean for your property
Every zoning case on the Dallas City Plan Commission docket for Thursday, October 8, 2026, 9:00 AM, read from the staff reports and written up as an impact memo: what's proposed, who it helps or hurts, and the deadline to be heard.
Watch my parcels — $40/mo
Cancel anytime. Dallas, Fort Worth and Plano dockets at launch.
This docket (11 zoning cases)
- Z-26-000046 — Agricultural lot rezoned to allow one single-family home
- Z-26-000163 — Gas station, drive-through and retail on 3.2 residential acres
- Z-26-000184 — 12.6 acres of residential/ag land to Light Industrial
- Z-26-000065 — Dallas Zoo seeks MU-2 zoning for 116-ft zip line
- Z-26-000181 — Five-year renewal of metal salvage SUP on Ryan Road
- Z-26-000143 — Mixed-use PD replaces Commercial Service zoning near Dallas Zoo
- Z-26-000191 — Remove no-multifamily deed restriction at Camp Wisdom and Clark
- Z-26-000092 — Permanent alcohol sales SUP for Texaco store on Great Trinity Forest Way
- Z-26-000131 — Munger Place Church expands PD for parking, adds retail tract
- Z-26-000122 — SUP to run private community center in existing house
- Z-26-000166 — Dallas ISD rezones 33-acre campus to rebuild public school
Z-26-000046 — Agricultural lot rezoned to allow one single-family home
Hearing: Thu Oct 8, 2026, 9:00 AM, Dallas CPC (agenda item 1, Consent) · Council District: 8 · Comment deadline: Register to speak online by Wed Oct 7, 2026, 3:00 PM (214-670-4209 or the CPC meetings page); written presentations by Wed Oct 7, 5:00 PM to Jorge.Mendoza@dallas.gov or Liliana.Lopez@dallas.gov; in-person speakers need no registration.
Where: Between Plainview Drive and Sparrow Lane, east of Dowdy Ferry Road; approx. 2.350 acres, undeveloped, fronting Plainview Drive (local street).
What's proposed: Owner/applicant Dulce Figueroa and Mike Nieto ask to rezone from A(A) Agricultural to R-10(A) Single Family so they can plat the lot and build one house. A(A) allows a house but requires a 3-acre minimum to plat; the applicant owns roughly two acres. R-10(A) drops the minimum lot to 10,000 sq ft, raises allowable height from 24 ft to 30 ft, allows 45% lot coverage (vs. 10%), and cuts the front setback from 50 ft to 30 ft (the report notes blockface continuity may still force a 50-ft front setback). R-10(A) drops A(A) uses such as animal production, commercial stables and plant nurseries.
Staff recommendation: "Approval." No conditions or deed restrictions are stated in the report.
Who is affected and how:
- Adjacent single-family / residential owners: Neutral to mildly helpful. The report lists the site, north and east as undeveloped A(A), and south and west as A(A) land already developed with single-family homes on roughly 10,000 sq ft lots. One house is lower intensity than what A(A) already permits (stables, animal production); traffic staff found no significant roadway impact.
- Nearby commercial / land investors: Mildly helpful. A signal the city will accept A(A)-to-R-10(A) conversions for sub-3-acre parcels here, which could unlock other undersized A(A) tracts east of Dowdy Ferry. "G" MVA market; the report notes remaining A(A) areas are expected to transition to permanent zoning.
- Within ~1,000 ft: No transit service within half a mile. No schools, creeks or other specific features are stated in the report.
Watch for:
- No zoning cases in the area in the last five years; 23 property owners notified (notification list dated 09/11/2026). Replies in favor/opposed are not stated in the report.
- The report's footnote says SB 840 could allow 45-ft height and reduced setbacks if later found applicable to the site.
- Main open question: whether a 50-ft front setback is imposed for blockface continuity.
Next step after CPC: Yes. This is a zoning change, so CPC's recommendation goes to Dallas City Council for a public hearing and final vote.
Source: https://cityofdallas.legistar1.com/cityofdallas/attachments/aac15e19-3064-49e7-87fd-6c0084191e8b.pdf · Legistar file 26-3204A.
Z-26-000163 — Gas station, drive-through and retail on 3.2 residential acres
Hearing: Thu Oct 8, 2026, 9:00 AM, Dallas CPC (agenda item 2, Consent) · Council District: 8 · Comment deadline: Register to speak online by Wed Oct 7, 2026, 3:00 PM (214-670-4209 or the CPC meetings page); written presentations by Wed Oct 7, 5:00 PM to Jorge.Mendoza@dallas.gov or Liliana.Lopez@dallas.gov; in-person speakers need no registration.
Where: East corner of S. Beltline Road and Lawson Road, AKA 500 S. Beltline Road; 3.2 acres, undeveloped, at two principal arterials (Belt Line 107-ft ROW, Lawson 100-ft ROW).
What's proposed: Applicant/owner Samer Suwwan (Sukasa Realty, LLC; agent Warren Ellis, JSA Development Group) seeks CR Community Retail in place of R-10(A) Single Family. The plan is a motor vehicle fueling station, drive-through restaurant and retail building, none allowed in R-10(A); CR also opens offices, clinics and personal services. The applicant volunteers deed restrictions prohibiting hotel/motel, bars and lounges, auto service center, car wash, inside/outside commercial amusement, commercial parking lot or garage, stores of 100,000 sq ft or more, liquor store, pawn shop, mini-warehouse and communications exchange facility, plus 6-ft sidewalks and pedestrian pathways to building entrances.
Staff recommendation: "Approval, subject to deed restrictions volunteered by the applicant" (list above).
Who is affected and how:
- Adjacent single-family / residential owners: Mixed. East of the site is single-family on R-10(A); north and west are undeveloped R-10(A)/CS; south is CR with a general merchandise/food store over 3,500 sq ft. Staff calls the change not too intense for the surrounding R-10(A), but engineering says existing roads are "not considered sufficient," the Belt Line/Lawson intersection already appears to meet signal warrants on volumes and crash history, and a gas station adds access conflicts. Deed restrictions remove the noisiest uses.
- Nearby commercial / land investors: Helpful. CR approval on a corner denied without prejudice in December 2024 (Z234-269) signals openness to arterial retail here ("H" MVA market). A signal/realignment "may require acquisition of a portion of the subject property."
- Within ~1,000 ft: No transit within half a mile. A Traffic Impact Analysis is required at platting. No schools or creeks stated.
Watch for:
- 122 property owners notified (list dated 08/28/2026); replies are not stated in the report.
- The report says two zoning cases occurred nearby in five years but lists none beyond the 2024 denial.
- Engineering wants an intersection solution identified "before additional development is approved" — commissioners could add conditions or hold the item.
Next step after CPC: Yes. Zoning change requires a City Council public hearing and vote after CPC.
Source: https://cityofdallas.legistar1.com/cityofdallas/attachments/7a8a4f14-5a0a-46dc-8ec9-afb9e68f43f8.pdf · Legistar file 26-3205A.
Z-26-000184 — 12.6 acres of residential/ag land to Light Industrial
Hearing: Thu Oct 8, 2026, 9:00 AM, Dallas CPC (agenda item 3, Consent) · Council District: 8 · Comment deadline: Register to speak online by Wed Oct 7, 2026, 3:00 PM (214-670-4209 or the CPC meetings page); written presentations by Wed Oct 7, 5:00 PM to Jorge.Mendoza@dallas.gov or Liliana.Lopez@dallas.gov; in-person speakers need no registration.
Where: Northeast corner of Cleveland Road and Bonnie View Road; approx. 12.6263 acres, undeveloped. Bonnie View is a minor arterial (100-ft ROW), Cleveland a principal arterial (80-ft ROW).
What's proposed: Owner/applicant Osvaldo Rojas (Confiar Real Estate Inc.) asks to rezone from R-7.5(A) Single Family and A(A) Agricultural to LI Light Industrial. The applicant intends to sell to a buyer who would develop light industrial uses. LI allows light manufacturing, warehouses, mini-warehouse, trade centers, freight terminals and outside storage (some under residential adjacency review), 70-ft height, 80% lot coverage, 15-ft front setback and a 30-ft setback from single-family. Today R-7.5(A) allows 30-ft homes; A(A) allows 24-ft structures at 10% coverage. The A(A) portion is in the AE flood zone.
Staff recommendation: "Approval." No conditions stated.
Who is affected and how:
- Adjacent single-family / residential owners: Hurt. Properties to the west are R-7.5(A) single-family (the report lists homes along Bonnie View Road and Cleveland Road among those notified). They would face 70-ft industrial buildings, truck traffic and outside storage, mitigated only by the 30-ft single-family setback and adjacency review for some uses.
- Nearby commercial / land investors: Helpful. North is PD 761 (utility building), east is LI/A(A) with a distribution warehouse, south is PD 761/A(A) undeveloped. Staff calls the request consistent with the Logistics/Industrial Park placetype and the Dallas Logistics Port district. Approval strengthens the case for converting remaining residential/ag parcels here to industrial ("H" MVA market).
- Within ~1,000 ft: No transit within half a mile. AE flood zone on the A(A) portion limits buildable area.
Watch for:
- 21 property owners notified (list dated 09/16/2026), including industrial owners (Southlink Owner LLC, RW Cleveland Industrial LLC, Capa Concrete) and homeowners; replies not stated in the report.
- No zoning cases in the notification area in the last five years.
- No site plan or end user; land is being entitled for resale with no restrictions beyond base LI.
Next step after CPC: Yes. Zoning change goes to City Council for a public hearing and final vote.
Source: https://cityofdallas.legistar1.com/cityofdallas/attachments/94c9a32f-0225-49ed-8612-5258b7277231.pdf · Legistar file 26-3206A.
Z-26-000065 — Dallas Zoo seeks MU-2 zoning for 116-ft zip line
Hearing: Thu Oct 8, 2026, 9:00 AM, Dallas CPC (agenda item 4, Consent) · Council District: 4 · Comment deadline: Register to speak online by Wed Oct 7, 2026, 3:00 PM (214-670-4209 or the CPC meetings page); written presentations by Wed Oct 7, 5:00 PM to Jorge.Mendoza@dallas.gov or Liliana.Lopez@dallas.gov; in-person speakers need no registration.
Where: Southwest line of S. Marsalis Avenue between I-35E and E. Clarendon Drive (Dallas Zoo); approx. 33,182 sq ft inside the zoo. S. Marsalis is a minor arterial; E. Clarendon a community collector.
What's proposed: Applicant Dallas Zoo Management, Inc. (Dustin Crawford; representative Mission Ridge Consultants / Kiesha Kay) on land owned by the City of Dallas Parks and Recreation Department asks to rezone a small piece of the zoo from RR Regional Retail to MU-2 Mixed Use. The sole stated purpose is a 116-ft zip line, which exceeds RR's 70-ft height cap. MU-2 allows 135 ft (180 ft for a mixed-use project with retail), 80% lot coverage, and adds multifamily, hotel (by SUP) and other residential uses RR does not permit. The zoo holds a certificate of occupancy for a public park.
Staff recommendation: "Approval." No conditions or site plan are stated in the report.
Who is affected and how:
- Adjacent single-family / residential owners: Mildly hurt to neutral. West of the site is R-7.5(A) single-family homes; staff says distance from residential and the small, oddly shaped parcel limit any buildable scale and that the height is appropriate. Still, nothing conditions the MU-2 change on the zip line; a 135-ft structure becomes legally possible. ForwardDallas 2.0 guidance cited calls for early community engagement.
- Nearby commercial / land investors: Neutral to mildly helpful. North is MU-1 commercial/offices; east is RR parking lot; south is zoo on R-7.5(A)/CS. City ownership means little private development pressure; the signal is tolerance for taller structures on Marsalis ("F" MVA market). No parking required for the park use near transit.
- Within ~1,000 ft: DART Red Line light rail and bus routes 9 and 145 within half a mile. Traffic staff found no significant roadway impact.
Watch for:
- Only 7 property owners notified (list dated 09/10/2026), mostly Havendon Circle homes; replies not stated in the report.
- No zoning cases in the area in the last five years.
- Commissioners could ask why a straight MU-2 change was used rather than a height-limited tool.
Next step after CPC: Yes. Zoning change requires a City Council public hearing and vote after CPC.
Source: https://cityofdallas.legistar1.com/cityofdallas/attachments/ef8090d3-64b5-4d3a-a46c-d557225b5a1b.pdf · Legistar file 26-3207A.
Z-26-000181 — Five-year renewal of metal salvage SUP on Ryan Road
Hearing: Thu Oct 8, 2026, 9:00 AM, Dallas CPC (agenda item 5, Consent) · Council District: 6 · Comment deadline: Register to speak online by Wed Oct 7, 2026, 3:00 PM (214-670-4209 or the CPC meetings page); written presentations by Wed Oct 7, 5:00 PM to Jorge.Mendoza@dallas.gov or Liliana.Lopez@dallas.gov; in-person speakers need no registration.
Where: South line of Ryan Road, east of Luna Road (1840 Ryan Rd per the notification list), northwest Dallas industrial area near W. Northwest Hwy; approx. 13.885 acres.
What's proposed: The site is zoned IM Industrial Manufacturing and already operates as a metal salvage facility under SUP No. 2434, granted January 12, 2022 for five years (expiring January 12, 2027). Owner/applicant Mike Uhrick (Ryan Street Developers LLC; representative Robert Baldwin) asks to amend the SUP so the salvage yard keeps operating. No changes to the existing SUP site plan are proposed. IM zoning allows 110 ft height and 80% lot coverage, but this request only continues the existing use.
Staff recommendation: "Approval for a five-year period, subject to conditions." Conditions: use limited to a metal salvage facility; compliance with the attached site plan; ingress/egress only where shown; outside operations only in the area shown; minimum 38 off-street parking spaces; property kept in good repair. A volunteered deed restriction (Z145-236) already prohibits more intense uses (auto auction, outside salvage, refuse transfer station, landfill, vehicle storage lot, etc.); metal salvage is not on that list.
Who is affected and how:
- Adjacent single-family / residential owners: neutral — the report lists no residential neighbors. Surrounding uses are storage warehouses (north, east), office showroom/warehouse and commercial motor vehicle parking (south), and another metal salvage facility (west). Transportation found no significant roadway impact.
- Nearby commercial / land investors: neutral to mildly helpful — renewal confirms the Industrial Hub placetype and recent precedent (Z-25-000089, Dec 10, 2025 metal salvage SUP renewal nearby; Z245-184, Feb 25, 2026 concrete batch plant SUP for Cowtown Redi-Mix). Expect continued heavy-industrial valuation, not redevelopment pressure. MVA "F".
- Within ~1,000 ft: Ryan Road is a community collector (44' pavement, 60' ROW); Luna Road a principal arterial (107'). No DART rail or bus within a half mile. BNSF Railway is on the notification list.
Watch for:
- The time-limit condition is drafted oddly ("expires on ___ (5-years after passage) January 12,2027"); the final expiration date should be clarified.
- 15 property owners notified (list dated 09/11/2026); replies not stated in the report.
Next step after CPC: Yes — an SUP amendment requires a City Council public hearing after CPC; date not stated in the report.
Source: https://cityofdallas.legistar1.com/cityofdallas/attachments/5a24709c-520f-4487-9524-2c992560f808.pdf · Legistar file 26-3208A.
Z-26-000143 — Mixed-use PD replaces Commercial Service zoning near Dallas Zoo
Hearing: Thu Oct 8, 2026, 9:00 AM, Dallas CPC (agenda item 6, Consent) · Council District: 4 · Comment deadline: Register to speak online by Wed Oct 7, 2026, 3:00 PM (214-670-4209 or the CPC meetings page); written presentations by Wed Oct 7, 5:00 PM to Jorge.Mendoza@dallas.gov or Liliana.Lopez@dallas.gov; in-person speakers need no registration.
Where: Southeast line of S. R.L. Thornton Fwy, south of E. 11th Street, between Upton Street and Fleming Avenue, AKA 341 S. Fleming Avenue, Oak Cliff; near DART Dallas Zoo Station, the Dallas Zoo and Halperin Park; approx. 4.256 acres.
What's proposed: Owner/applicant BMH Oak Cliff III LLC (Hudson Henley; representative Paul Carden) asks for a new Planned Development District with WMU-5 Walkable Mixed-Use base uses on land zoned CS Commercial Service, which allows outside storage, vehicle repair, machine shops and similar heavy commercial uses. The site is mostly undeveloped. The PD would allow a multifamily-plus-retail project: 5 stories / 80 ft maximum (versus 3 stories / 45 ft today), 85% lot coverage, 10 ft side/rear setbacks, no residential proximity slope, and no minimum parking because the site is within a half mile of light rail. Residential hotel use is prohibited.
Staff recommendation: "Approval, subject to conditions." Key PD conditions: 6 ft sidewalks with 5 ft parkway on Fleming, Upton, E. 11th and the freeway frontage; no surface parking within 30 ft of Fleming Ave; two pedestrian amenities per frontage; no development plan required.
Who is affected and how:
- Adjacent single-family / residential owners: mixed. East (PD 388 Tracts 1 and 2G, Tenth Street Historic District) and south (CS) are single family and undeveloped. Removing heavy-commercial CS uses next to homes helps; an 80 ft building with no residential proximity slope and no parking minimum raises height and street-parking concerns. Traffic review found no significant impact pending improvements.
- Nearby commercial / land investors: helpful — strong comparable signal for TOD up-zoning around Zoo Station, following MU-2 on Upton St (Z223-299, Aug 14, 2024) and MF-2(A) at Grant/Ridge (Z212-305, Jan 25, 2023). Area is MVA "G".
- Within ~1,000 ft: DART Red Line and bus routes 9 and 145 within a half mile; a child-care facility SUP at Fleming/E. Clarendon (Z223-308); Tenth Street Historic District overlay to the east.
Watch for:
- 91 property owners notified (list dated 08/13/2026); replies not stated in the report. Historic-district neighbors could pull the item from Consent.
- Staff says SB 840 redevelopment was blocked by nearby heavy industrial uses, hence the PD.
Next step after CPC: Yes — a new PD is a zoning change and goes to City Council for a public hearing; date not stated in the report.
Source: https://cityofdallas.legistar1.com/cityofdallas/attachments/0b542f5c-db5f-4517-94eb-951365982dca.pdf · Legistar file 26-3209A.
Z-26-000191 — Remove no-multifamily deed restriction at Camp Wisdom and Clark
Hearing: Thu Oct 8, 2026, 9:00 AM, Dallas CPC (agenda item 7, Consent) · Council District: 3 · Comment deadline: Register to speak online by Wed Oct 7, 2026, 3:00 PM (214-670-4209 or the CPC meetings page); written presentations by Wed Oct 7, 5:00 PM to Jorge.Mendoza@dallas.gov or Liliana.Lopez@dallas.gov; in-person speakers need no registration.
Where: Northeast corner of W. Camp Wisdom Road and Clark Road, AKA 6800 W. Camp Wisdom Road, southwest Dallas at the Duncanville city line; approx. 6.1779 acres, undeveloped.
What's proposed: Owner Texaz Perceptions Partners, LTD (applicant Kiesha Kay / Mission Ridge Consultants) asks the City to terminate deed restrictions Z834-123 (Tract 6B) on land zoned CR Community Retail. The restrictions prohibit multifamily and cap multifamily at 0.25 FAR and 2 stories / 54 ft. Staff states that under Senate Bill 840 and Chapter 218 of the Texas Local Government Code the City must allow multifamily on retail-zoned land without density or floor-area limits and cannot enforce these restrictions anyway; the applicant wants them removed as a formality for its lender. No zoning change and no new construction are proposed; CR zoning stays.
Staff recommendation: "Approval." No conditions, time limits or replacement restrictions are listed.
Who is affected and how:
- Adjacent single-family / residential owners: neutral to mildly hurt. The report lists multifamily north (PD 599) and east (PD 938), multifamily under development west (PD 1129), and Duncanville to the south. Single-family owners on Clarkview Dr, Clarkwood Dr, Clarktown Ct and Keywe Pl are on the notification list. Termination clears the way for an apartment or mixed-use project state law already permits; no buffers, screening or hours are added. Engineering had no objection.
- Nearby commercial / land investors: helpful — follows Z223-304 (Mar 26, 2025), which created an MU-1 PD and terminated part of the same Z834-123 restrictions just northwest of this corner. Signals remaining Z834-123 tracts can be cleared. Area is MVA "F".
- Within ~1,000 ft: W. Camp Wisdom Road and Clark Road are both principal arterials (107 ft ROW); DART route 223 within a half mile; staff cites proximity to "large educational facilities" (not named).
Watch for:
- Page footers read "Z-26-000193" while the file number is Z-26-000191 — a clerical inconsistency worth confirming on the record.
- 27 property owners notified (list dated 09/21/2026); replies not stated in the report.
- Because the City considers the restrictions unenforceable, the practical effect is formal rather than substantive.
Next step after CPC: Yes — the termination goes to City Council after CPC (the 2025 precedent was done by Council resolution); date not stated in the report.
Source: https://cityofdallas.legistar1.com/cityofdallas/attachments/9ef78940-393a-45b0-9cb6-a83bd00e5a62.pdf · Legistar file 26-3210A.
Z-26-000092 — Permanent alcohol sales SUP for Texaco store on Great Trinity Forest Way
Hearing: Thu Oct 8, 2026, 9:00 AM, Dallas CPC (agenda item 8, Under Advisement, held from Sept 3, 2026) · Council District: 8 · Comment deadline: Register to speak online by Wed Oct 7, 2026, 3:00 PM (214-670-4209 or the CPC meetings page); written presentations by Wed Oct 7, 5:00 PM to Jorge.Mendoza@dallas.gov or Liliana.Lopez@dallas.gov; in-person speakers need no registration.
Where: Southwest corner of Great Trinity Forest Way and Murdock Road (8098 Great Trinity Forest Way per the notification list), southeast Dallas near C.F. Hawn Fwy; approx. 21,344 sq ft, developed with a Texaco fueling station and convenience store.
What's proposed: Owner/applicant Karim Pirani / Enigma Enterprises Inc. (representative Robert Nunez) seeks a new SUP for the sale of alcoholic beverages with a general merchandise or food store 3,500 sq ft or less. The property is zoned RR Regional Retail with a D-1 Liquor Control Overlay, which requires an SUP for any alcohol sales. The prior SUP No. 2337 was approved June 12, 2019, extended in 2024, and expired in May 2026. No changes to the store, site plan or operations are proposed; this replaces the lapsed permit.
Staff recommendation: "Approval, subject to a site plan and conditions." Key condition: TIME LIMIT — "This specific use permit shall not expire," replacing the earlier two-year terms. Other conditions: use limited to alcohol sales with the small food store; compliance with the attached site plan; property kept in good repair. The store passed its annual Chapter 12B inspection.
Who is affected and how:
- Adjacent single-family / residential owners: neutral — the report lists no residential neighbors. Surrounding uses are a fuel station/food store and restaurant (north, PD 533 with SUP 2286), undeveloped land (east), a church (south; United House of Prayer at 121 Murdock Rd is on the notification list), and another fuel station/food store (west). Church/school spacing is checked separately at permitting.
- Nearby commercial / land investors: helpful — a no-expiration SUP is worth more than the prior two-year permits and matches nearby approvals (Z190-122 at Oklaunion Dr, 2021; Z201-195 southeast of Murdock, 2021). Removes renewal risk.
- Within ~1,000 ft: Great Trinity Forest Way is described as a primary arterial; McDonald's is on the notification list. Transit access is not stated in the report.
Watch for:
- Why CPC held the case on Sept 3 is not stated; "No changes have been proposed since the previous hearing." The adjacent church and the no-expiration term are likely discussion points; CPC could impose a time limit.
- 7 property owners notified (list dated 08/18/2026); replies not stated in the report.
Next step after CPC: Yes — SUPs require a City Council public hearing after CPC; date not stated in the report.
Source: https://cityofdallas.legistar1.com/cityofdallas/attachments/1aee9624-612f-406c-9b4b-cec05e106ef1.pdf · Site plan: https://cityofdallas.legistar1.com/cityofdallas/attachments/316c590e-5558-4b29-af34-8fe2a2cf8e6d.pdf · Legistar file 26-3211A.
Z-26-000131 — Munger Place Church expands PD for parking, adds retail tract
Hearing: Thu Oct 8, 2026, 9:00 AM, Dallas CPC (agenda item 9, Under Advisement) · Council District: 14 · Comment deadline: Register to speak online by Wed Oct 7, 2026, 3:00 PM (214-670-4209 or the CPC meetings page); written presentations by Wed Oct 7, 5:00 PM to Jorge.Mendoza@dallas.gov or Liliana.Lopez@dallas.gov; in-person speakers need no registration.
Where: North line of Bryan Street between Greenville Avenue and Matilda Street, and the southeast corner of N. Munger Boulevard and Bryan Street, AKA 5200 Bryan Street (Old East Dallas). Approx. 4.591 acres.
What's proposed: The site is zoned MF-2(A) Multifamily, PD 842 and PD 931, and holds Munger Place Church, its surface lots, two vacant lots, and a general merchandise/food store (Family Dollar). Owner/applicant Alaina Livingston / Munger Place Church Inc. (rep: Laura Lee Gunn, Masterplan) wants to expand PD 931's Tracts 2 and 3 onto the vacant lots for more church parking, and create a new Tract 4 covering the Family Dollar building. Tract 4 would keep the store by right (capped at 8,000 sq ft) while letting the church convert it to church office/parking later. Underlying MF-2(A) uses and existing height caps (45 ft sanctuary, 32 ft parsonage/office) do not change.
Staff recommendation: "Approval, subject to amended conceptual plan and amended conditions." Amended conditions: three street trees per tract on Bryan, six on Matilda, five other large trees, 10-ft north buffer, 5-ft side buffers, a 20-ft parking setback plus 6-ft solid screening fence at the west edge of Tract 2 and east edge of Tract 3, and CPC approval of a landscape plan before any permit. Minimum 78 church spaces stays. Conditions changed since the last hearing.
Who is affected and how:
- Adjacent single-family / residential owners: Mostly neutral to mildly hurt. Report lists multifamily, single family and duplex to the north, east and south. New surface parking replaces vacant lots, but the 20-ft setback, 6-ft screening fence and tree/buffer requirements are the mitigation. Traffic review found no significant impact.
- Nearby commercial / land investors: Neutral. Church control of the retail corner reduces redevelopment odds there; PD 842 commercial to the north (fueling station, laundry) is unchanged. No zoning cases in the area in five years. MVA area "C" (strong market).
- Within ~1,000 ft: Park directly west. N Munger Blvd and Greenville Ave are community collectors on the bike plan. DART routes 3 and 9 within half a mile.
Watch for:
- Held from Sept 3; the report does not state why. Expect discussion of the revised landscape/screening language.
- 171 property owners notified; replies not stated in the report.
- Future conversion of the store to church use needs no further zoning case once Tract 4 is created.
Next step after CPC: Yes. A PD amendment is a zoning change and goes to City Council for a public hearing and ordinance after CPC action.
Source: Staff report: https://cityofdallas.legistar1.com/cityofdallas/attachments/9206c75c-159f-4e0f-a810-4dbf3090bc99.pdf · Conceptual plan: https://cityofdallas.legistar1.com/cityofdallas/attachments/549c16dd-7580-475e-9367-3f5b6a003e9f.pdf · Legistar file 26-3212A.
Z-26-000122 — SUP to run private community center in existing house
Hearing: Thu Oct 8, 2026, 9:00 AM, Dallas CPC (agenda item 10, Under Advisement) · Council District: 8 · Comment deadline: Register to speak online by Wed Oct 7, 2026, 3:00 PM (214-670-4209 or the CPC meetings page); written presentations by Wed Oct 7, 5:00 PM to Jorge.Mendoza@dallas.gov or Liliana.Lopez@dallas.gov; in-person speakers need no registration.
Where: Northeast corner of Catalonia Drive and Galicia Lane (both local streets), southeast Dallas. Approx. 6,550 sq ft lot with an existing single-family house that appears to have served as a leasing office.
What's proposed: The lot is zoned R-7.5(A) Single Family and would stay that way. Owner/applicant Tisha Vaidya (rep: Stephanie Murphy; officers listed under Hacienda del Sol Apartments, LLC, c/o Elizabeth Property Group) seeks a new Specific Use Permit for an "accessory community center (private)" in the existing building. Under Sec. 51A-4.217 that use is a meeting/recreation/social space run by and for residents of a residential project under unified management. The SUP conditions tie use to the attached site plan, so the footprint stays as-is; no new building, height or density is proposed. The SUP would have no expiration date. No parking minimum applies under current code.
Staff recommendation: "Approval, subject to site plan and conditions." Conditions: use limited to accessory community center (private); comply with site plan; no time limit; maintenance; general compliance.
Who is affected and how:
- Adjacent single-family / residential owners: Mildly neutral. Single-family homes surround the site on all four sides (report's land use table). Staff says the use is limited to the existing footprint and should not have significant adverse impact; hours, membership size and events are not addressed in the conditions, which is the gap to raise. Traffic review found no significant impact.
- Nearby commercial / land investors: Neutral. Small-lot, no-expiration SUP in a residential block; no other zoning cases in the area in five years. MVA area "H" (weak market), so little comparable-value signal.
- Within ~1,000 ft: No DART rail or bus within half a mile. Schools and creeks not stated in the report.
Watch for:
- Held twice (from Sept 3 and Sept 17); the report does not say why. No changes have been proposed since the previous hearing, which suggests the delay was for applicant or neighborhood discussions rather than condition edits.
- Consider asking for a time limit or hours-of-operation condition; staff proposed neither.
- 22 property owners notified; replies not stated in the report.
Next step after CPC: Yes. SUPs require a City Council public hearing and ordinance after CPC's recommendation.
Source: Staff report: https://cityofdallas.legistar1.com/cityofdallas/attachments/9528cf4a-2d14-4abc-b366-cd4ff2cab9d0.pdf · Site plan: https://cityofdallas.legistar1.com/cityofdallas/attachments/145c874e-e546-4bf7-9c1f-c0034c062597.pdf · Legistar file 26-3213A.
Z-26-000166 — Dallas ISD rezones 33-acre campus to rebuild public school
Hearing: Thu Oct 8, 2026, 9:00 AM, Dallas CPC (agenda item 11, Under Advisement) · Council District: 5 · Comment deadline: Register to speak online by Wed Oct 7, 2026, 3:00 PM (214-670-4209 or the CPC meetings page); written presentations by Wed Oct 7, 5:00 PM to Jorge.Mendoza@dallas.gov or Liliana.Lopez@dallas.gov; in-person speakers need no registration.
Where: North line of Palisade Drive between N. Prairie Creek Road and Greendale Drive; block bounded by Palisade Drive, N. Prairie Creek Road (principal arterial, 100-ft ROW), Greendale Drive and Tonawanda Drive, southeast Dallas near Bruton Road. Approx. 33.12 acres.
What's proposed: The site is zoned PD 825 and holds a public school (on site since 1955) and parking. Applicant/owner Dallas Independent School District (rep: Elsie Thurman) asks to end PD 825 and rezone: (1) the northern parking-lot portion to R-7.5(A) Single Family, which DISD expects to sell; (2) the main campus to TH-1(A) Townhouse, whose zero-foot front setback lets security fencing and athletic-field light poles go near the property line without variances; and (3) a new SUP for a public school so the campus can be rebuilt with new buildings and lots. TH-1(A) caps height at 36 ft (PD 825 allowed 45 ft). No school buildings are allowed on the northern lot.
Staff recommendation: "Approval of 1) R-7.5(A) Single Family District, 2) TH-1(A) Townhouse District, and 3) a new Specific Use Permit for a public school, subject to a site plan and conditions." Key conditions: light poles max 80 ft, on only 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. Monday-Saturday, meeting International Dark Sky standards; 6-ft sidewalks with 5-ft buffers on all four frontages; traffic management plan at permitting; no expiration date.
Who is affected and how:
- Adjacent single-family / residential owners: Mixed. R-7.5(A) single family surrounds the site on all sides. Staff names noise, light and traffic as the main impacts; lighting hours, Dark Sky standard and traffic plan are the mitigation. Check pole placement on the site plan.
- Nearby commercial / land investors: Help. The northern lot becomes R-7.5(A) and is slated to leave DISD ownership, creating a future single-family development parcel. CR Community Retail exists along Bruton Road. No zoning cases in the notification area in five years; MVA area "H".
- Within ~1,000 ft: N. Prairie Creek Road arterial; DART Route 218 within half a mile (service on Bruton Road).
Watch for:
- Held from Sept 17; the report does not state why, and no changes have been submitted since the previous hearing.
- 289 property owners notified; replies not stated. School name and grade level are not stated in the report.
Next step after CPC: Yes. Both the zoning changes and the SUP go to City Council for a public hearing and ordinance after CPC action.
Source: Staff report: https://cityofdallas.legistar1.com/cityofdallas/attachments/c71c291c-9ecc-4e70-9d70-2326fabcea4d.pdf · Site plan: https://cityofdallas.legistar1.com/cityofdallas/attachments/15c986de-1938-423e-b137-8aeb920ef98d.pdf · Legistar file 26-3214A.
ZoningBrief is an AI-operated service run under the ownership of a human proprietor. Memos are written by an AI from the official staff reports and are not legal advice. Verify dates with the City of Dallas before acting. Contact: hello@zoningbrief.com